Wrist Wrap Comparison: What You Actually Get for $20, $25, or $55

By Brandon, Founder · Stoic Performance · Verified July 2026

Wrist wraps are the cheapest piece of real equipment you'll buy, and the one with the widest price spread. The same job, done by wraps that run from twenty dollars to fifty-five. Here's what separates them, with every number pulled from the brand's own product page in July 2026.

I sell one of these. I've put ours in the table with the price we actually charge, next to a competitor who charges less. Read the table, then decide.

The short version

  1. Wraps do one job: they hold your wrist neutral so it can't fold back under a heavy press. Every wrap on this list does that.
  2. What you're actually choosing is length and stiffness. Length decides how many passes you get and how rigid the finished wrap is. That's the decision, not the brand.
  3. Price spread on comparable 18-to-21 inch wraps in July 2026: $19.99 to $55.00. Ours is $25.

The comparison table

Every figure below came off the brand's own product page on 2026-07-22. Where a brand doesn't publish a spec, the cell says so. I'm not filling gaps with guesses about someone else's product.

Stoic SBD Gymreapers Inzer Atomic A7 Zebra Iron Bull Classic
Price $25 / $30 / $38 $55.00 $19.99 $39.95 $35.95 $25.00
Lengths 18", 24", 36" 15.7", 23.6", 39.4" 18" 20", 36" 21", 30", 39" 18"
Stiffness options One Flexible or Stiff One (separate stiff model) One Four Level 1 of their 1-4 scale
Composition published? No No Yes, 70% polyester / 30% elastic Rubber-cord construction, no full breakdown No Cotton and elastic blend
Federation IPF legal thru 2026; USPA, USAPL Their page states IPF approved, USAPL and USPA compliant Their page states IPF, IPL, USPA, USAPL approved Their page states IPF approval Their page states USPA, IPL, IPF approved, USAPL compliant Their page states USPA, IPL, IWF, USAW certified, no IPF
Returns 30 days, unworn Not stated on the product page Lifetime replacement on defects Not stated on the product page Not stated on the product page 30-day trial, lifetime warranty
Warranty 1 year against manufacturing defects Not stated on the product page Lifetime replacement on defects Not stated on the product page Not stated on the product page Lifetime warranty
Reviews on their page 4.84 from 417 97% five-star from 140 4.9 from 752 Not shown Not shown 4.7 from 65

Prices and specs verified 2026-07-22 from each brand's own product page. Sources listed at the bottom. Specs change. If you're reading this a long way past that date, check the brand's page before you buy.

Where each length is legal

Publishing the exceptions rather than burying them, because the one time it matters is at a gear check.

Length Legal in Not legal / do not assume
18" (45.7cm) USPA, USAPL, IPL, WPC/APF, GPC, USS, SPF, RPS, WRPF IPF only through 31 December 2026
24" (61cm) USPA, USAPL, IPL, WPC/APF, GPC, USS, SPF, RPS, WRPF IPF only through 31 December 2026
36" (91.4cm) USPA, USAPL, IPL, WPC/APF, GPC, USS, RPS, WRPF. SPF sits exactly on their 1m line One federation caps wraps at 61cm (24") and the 36" is well over it. If you compete outside the mainstream federations, read your own rulebook's length cap before you buy the 36". IPF only through 31 December 2026

Most federations cap wrist wraps at 1 metre, and all three of our lengths are inside that. The 36" is the one to check on, because a shorter cap does exist. Rules change; read the current rulebook for your federation before your meet, whatever brand you buy.

Read that table honestly

Gymreapers is five dollars cheaper than us at 18 inches. That's real and I'm not going to write around it. If eighteen inches is all you'll ever want and price is the deciding factor, they've priced that SKU below us.

SBD is $55. More than double ours, more than 2.7 times Gymreapers. What that buys you is a second stiffness option and their name. It doesn't buy a longer wrap, ours goes to 36 inches and theirs stops at 39.4, near enough the same ceiling.

We're the middle of the market, and we're built to stay there. $25 to $38 depending on length, three lengths, one stiffness that we think is the right one.

On federations, we're not level with most of this set, and it's worth saying plainly. SBD, Gymreapers, Inzer, and A7 all claim current IPF approval on their own pages. We don't have that anymore — the IPF removed Stoic from its Approved List in January 2026. What we do have: the IPF's own notice permits existing Stoic wraps for use in IPF-sanctioned competition through 31 December 2026. Iron Bull is the one brand here making no IPF claim at all. So if you compete IPF, read that row for what it actually says rather than assuming everyone's equal — and check your federation's current list before a meet either way. More on our status: IPF legal gear.

On what happens when one fails, Gymreapers and Iron Bull both publish a lifetime replacement on defects, which is more than our year, and it's their page to make that promise on. Ours covers manufacturing defects for a year from purchase, written out plainly on the warranty page rather than implied.

What actually decides this: length

The number of inches is the real decision and almost nobody explains it, so here it is.

A wrap works by the passes. Wind more material around the joint and you get a more rigid brace. That's the whole mechanism. Length is how much material you have to work with.

18 inches is right for most lifters. It covers the joint properly for bench and overhead work, wraps clean on most wrist sizes, and doesn't over-constrain you. Most lifters start here and stay here their whole training life. Start here unless you have a reason not to.

24 inches is the middle. More passes, more rigidity, and it's often the better call if you have larger wrists, where an 18 can run out before the wrap is properly set.

36 inches is for heavy pressing. Maximum passes, maximum rigidity, and genuinely harder to apply well. If you're not near the top of your pressing career, it's more wrap than the lift is asking for.

We price by length, $25, $30, $38, because you're literally buying more material. Nothing clever about it.

The two places every wrist wrap dies

I've been making this stuff for over a decade. Wraps fail in the same two places every time.

The thumb loop. It takes the full load every time you wind the wrap and every time you rip it off between sets. Thin loops with minimal stitching fray, then pull through the fabric. It's the most common failure and it's a construction decision, not a material one. Ours are reinforced, and the same construction runs on all three lengths.

The hook-and-loop closure. Cheap Velcro loses its bite. The hook side stops catching, it starts bunching when you roll the wrap, and eventually it releases mid-set, which is exactly when you don't want it to. Good closure material costs more and the difference shows up somewhere around year one.

Neither of these shows up on a spec sheet. Both of them decide whether you're buying wraps again in eighteen months.

Wrist wraps for men and women

Same product, same lengths, same job. Wrist circumference varies more between individuals than it does between men and women, so pick your length by wrist size and pressing load, not by which section of the site you found it in. Smaller wrists, 18 inches. Larger wrists or heavy pressing, 24 or 36.

Which one should you buy?

Buy Gymreapers if you want the cheapest wrap from an established brand and 18 inches is all you need. Five dollars is five dollars.

Buy SBD if you want SBD. They make good equipment and a lot of lifters want their name on the bench. That's a real reason, it's just worth knowing that's what the extra thirty dollars is.

Buy Stoic if you want the choice of three lengths at a fair price with the thumb loop and the closure built properly. We put the money into the parts that fail and priced the rest like adults.

Shop Stoic Wrist Wraps, from $25

Common questions

What length wrist wraps should I get? 18 inches for most lifters. 24 inches if you have larger wrists or want a stiffer wrap. 36 inches for heavy pressing where you want maximum rigidity. When in doubt, 18.

Are Stoic wrist wraps IPF approved? No. The IPF removed Stoic from its Approved Apparel and Equipment List in January 2026. That's worth stating plainly rather than glossing over. It doesn't make your wraps illegal at your next meet: the IPF's own notice says Stoic gear stays permitted for use in IPF-sanctioned competition through 31 December 2026. After that date, Stoic gear won't be eligible for IPF meets unless the listing is restored. They're still USPA and USAPL legal, no change there. See IPF legal gear for the full picture, and check your federation's current list before a meet, whatever brand you buy.

What happens if a wrap fails? Manufacturing defects are covered for one year from purchase, including a thumb loop that separates or a closure that stops holding. See the warranty page.

Are wrist wraps and wrist straps the same thing? No. Wraps brace the wrist for pressing. Straps attach your hands to the bar for pulling. Different tools, different lifts. If you're trying to hold onto heavy deadlifts, you want lifting straps, not wraps.

How tight should wrist wraps be? Tight enough that the joint genuinely can't fold back, loose enough that you can take them off between sets. A loosely applied wrap does almost nothing.

Should I wear wrist wraps for every set? No. Use them for the heavy pressing sets. Take them off for warm-ups and accessory work so your wrists keep doing their own job.

Related


Sources, all fetched 2026-07-22: us.sbdapparel.com/products/wrist-wraps · gymreapers.com/products/wrist-wraps · inzer.com/products/atomic-wrist-wraps · a7.co/products/zebra-wrist-wraps-usa · ironbullstrength.com/products/classic-wrist-wraps · stoicperformance.com/products/stoic-wrist-wraps

Brandon, Stoic Performance

Back to blog