Powerlifting Belt Comparison: What a Lever Belt Actually Costs
Share
By Brandon, Founder · Stoic Performance · Verified July 2026
A 13mm lever belt costs $105 or it costs $310, and both of them go around your waist and get tight. This page is the price and spec comparison nobody publishes, because most of the people writing about belts are selling one. So am I. Here's the table anyway.
Every competitor number came off that brand's own product page on 2026-07-22. Where a brand doesn't publish a spec, the cell says so. I'm not filling in someone else's product from memory.
The short version
- Thickness is support. 10mm suits most lifters. 13mm is maximum rigidity for people moving serious weight, and it takes months to break in.
- Closure is convenience, not support. A lever is faster between attempts. A prong adjusts to your bodyweight without a screwdriver.
- Verified July 2026, comparable lever belts run $105 to $310. The material story explains some of that spread. It does not explain all of it.
The comparison table
| Brand / belt | Price | Thickness | Width | Material as stated | Closure | Federation, as stated on their page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stoic Lever Belt | $105.00 | 13mm | no taper (width being re-measured) | full grain leather, no suede filler or composite layers | lever | IPF legal thru 2026; USPA, USAPL |
| Stoic Prong Belt | $74.00 | 10mm | no taper (width being re-measured) | full grain leather, no suede filler or composite layers | single prong | IPF legal thru 2026; USPA, USAPL |
| Inzer Forever Lever | $129.95 | 10mm | not published | not published | lever | not stated on their page |
| Inzer Forever Lever | $139.00 | 13mm | not published | "select leather", one solid thickness | lever | not stated on their page |
| Iron Bull Pro Lever | $139.99 | 10mm (±1mm stated) | 3.9" | genuine leather, suede finish | lever | IPF, USAPL, USPA, IPL |
| Gymreapers Lever | $150.00 | 10mm | 4" | vegetable-tanned leather, Amara suede surface | lever | IPF, IPL, USPA, USAPL |
| A7 Pioneer Cut Prong | $229.95 | 10mm or 13mm | ~4" | custom-dyed leather, gray suede interior | prong, offset holes | IPF approved, USAPL compliant |
| SBD Lever | $310.00 | 13mm | 3.9" | 4 layers British cowhide, red suede interior | patented gliding lever | IPF approved, USAPL and USPA compliant |
Verified 2026-07-22 from each brand's own product page. Sources at the bottom. Prices change, and belts in this category are often made to order with long lead times. Check before you buy.
On our width number: we have published "4 inches" for years. Four inches is 10.16cm, and five federations cap belt width at 10cm flat. Our belts almost certainly measure 10cm — the IPF Technical Committee measured and accepted them — so this reads like a rounding error in our own copy rather than a problem with the belt. We are not going to keep publishing a number we have not put a tape measure on ourselves, so the width cell stays blank until we have. If a belt's width matters for your federation, email us before you buy and we will measure one and tell you the number.
Where our belts are legal
Publishing the exceptions rather than burying them, because the one time it matters is at a gear check.
| Belt | Legal in | Not legal / do not assume |
|---|---|---|
| 10mm prong | USPA, USAPL, IPL, WPC/APF, GPC, USS, SPF, RPS | IPF only through 31 December 2026 |
| 13mm lever and 13mm prong | USPA, USAPL, IPL, WPC/APF, GPC, USS, SPF | RPS — their cap is half an inch (12.7mm), and 13mm is 0.3mm over on a literal read. Take the 10mm to an RPS meet. IPF only through 31 December 2026 |
Whether an RPS official would ever measure to a third of a millimetre is another question, but the rulebook says what it says and you should not find that out on the platform. Federation rules change; check the current rulebook before your meet, whatever brand you buy.
Read it straight: at $105, the Stoic 13mm lever is the cheapest lever belt in that set, and it's the thicker one. Against SBD's 13mm lever at $310 that's a $205 difference on the same thickness and effectively the same width.
Two honest caveats on that. SBD publishes a four-layer British cowhide construction and a patented lever mechanism, which is a real, specific thing we are not claiming. And Inzer's pages, which are the closest to us on price, publish almost nothing: no width, no leather type, and no federation approval statement at all. It's commonly assumed Inzer belts are IPF approved. Their own product pages don't say it, so I'm not going to say it for them.
The federation column is where the cheap end of this table separates, and it's worth reading closely. The IPF approves manufacturers, not just dimensions, so a belt can hit every spec and still be turned away if the brand isn't on the list. We aren't on it anymore — the IPF removed Stoic from its Approved List in January 2026. What we do have: the IPF's own notice permits existing Stoic belts for use in IPF-sanctioned competition through 31 December 2026, belts included. The two Inzer belts sitting nearest us on price make no federation claim on their own pages at all. If you're buying a belt to compete in past this year, that gap between "legal through 2026" and "currently approved" is worth knowing before you buy. Detail here: IPF legal gear.
And if it fails, manufacturing defects are covered for a year, buckle and lever hardware included. Written out on the warranty page rather than left vague. Gymreapers and Iron Bull both publish a lifetime warranty on their belts, which is longer than ours, and that's on their pages to say.
10mm or 13mm
This is the decision that actually matters, and it isn't "more is better."
10mm is the right belt for most lifters. It's the standard for serious squat and deadlift training. It gives you a rigid surface to brace against, and it breaks in to your body over the first few months instead of fighting you for a year. If you're buying your first real belt, buy this one.
13mm is maximum rigidity. It's for lifters already moving loads where the extra 3mm changes something. It is stiff, it stays stiff, and the break-in period is genuinely long. Buying 13mm before you need it mostly buys you a belt that's uncomfortable for a year.
Ours are $74 and $105 respectively. That $31 is the cost of the extra material, not a tier upgrade.
Lever or prong
Lever is faster. One motion, same tightness every time, which is why you see them at meets between attempts. The trade is that changing the setting means unscrewing and repositioning the lever plate.
Prong adjusts freely. Bodyweight moves, and a prong follows it without tools. The trade is that cinching a single prong at maximum tightness gets genuinely effortful, which is exactly why the lever earns its place at 13mm.
Neither one supports you more. This is a convenience decision. Anyone telling you otherwise is selling you the more expensive one.
What "full grain leather" is actually doing
Belt marketing is thick with leather words, so here's the plain version.
A belt's job is to be a rigid surface your midsection braces against. Rigidity comes from material that is structurally load-bearing all the way through. Ours is full grain leather throughout, no suede filler and no composite layers, so every millimeter of the stated thickness is doing structural work.
Where this matters: a belt built as layers with softer filler between them can hit the same stated thickness while less of it carries load. That's a general point about construction, not a claim about any specific competitor's belt. Read what each brand publishes about their own, and notice which ones publish nothing at all.
Lifting belts for men and women
Same belts, sized by the measurement around your belly at the height you'll wear it, not by your trouser size and not by gender. Ours run X-Small (25 to 28 inches) through XX-Large (45 to 48 inches). Measure first. It's the single most common sizing mistake in the category.
Which should you buy?
Buy the Stoic 10mm prong at $74 if this is your first real belt or you're training hard but not chasing maximum rigidity. It's the belt most lifters should own.
Buy the Stoic 13mm lever at $105 if you're moving serious weight, want maximum stiffness, and want the fastest setup between attempts.
Buy SBD if you want SBD. They publish a specific construction and a lever mechanism that's theirs, and a lot of lifters want that belt. Know that you're paying about three times ours for a 13mm lever.
Shop the Stoic 10mm prong belt, $74 · Shop the Stoic 13mm lever belt, $105
Common questions
Is a 13mm belt better than a 10mm belt? Not better, stiffer. 10mm suits most lifters and breaks in faster. 13mm is maximum rigidity for lifters already moving heavy loads, with a long break-in.
Is a lever belt better than a prong belt? No. A lever is faster to set at the same tightness every time. A prong adjusts to bodyweight changes without tools. Support is the same.
What size lifting belt do I need? Measure around your belly at the height you'll wear the belt, then match that to the size range. Do not use your trouser size.
Are Stoic belts IPF approved? No. The IPF removed Stoic from its Approved Apparel and Equipment List in January 2026. Worth saying plainly rather than hiding it: that doesn't make your belt illegal at your next meet. The IPF's own notice says Stoic gear stays permitted for use in IPF-sanctioned competition through 31 December 2026, both belts included. After that date, Stoic gear won't be eligible for IPF meets unless the listing is restored. They're still USPA and USAPL legal, no change there. See IPF legal gear for the full picture, and check your federation's current list before a meet, whatever brand you buy.
Is there a warranty on a Stoic belt? One year against manufacturing defects, which covers the lever, buckle, and rivets as well as the stitching. See the warranty page. That's separate from the 30-day return policy.
How long does a leather belt take to break in? 10mm softens to your body over a few months of regular use. 13mm takes considerably longer. Both stay rigid after that, which is the point.
Do I need a belt at all? Not for everything. A belt is a tool for heavy squats and deadlifts. It isn't a back brace and it isn't a substitute for learning to brace.
Related
- How to choose a powerlifting belt: the full how-to-choose
- Wrist wrap comparison: the same treatment on wraps
- Stoic vs SBD knee sleeves: the same treatment on sleeves
- IPF legal gear: what's on the list and what our current status actually means
- Warranty: one year against manufacturing defects
- Shop lever belts · Shop prong belts
Sources, all fetched 2026-07-22: us.sbdapparel.com/products/13mm-lever-belt · inzer.com/products/forever-lever-belt-13mm · inzer.com (Forever Lever 10mm) · gymreapers.com/products/10mm-lever-belt-black · ironbullstrength.com/products/pro-10mm-4in-lever-belt · a7.co/products/a7-pioneer-cut-prong-belt-ipf-approved · stoicperformance.com/products/stoic-lever-powerlifting-belt-13mm · stoicperformance.com/products/stoic-powerlifting-belt-10mm
Brandon, Stoic Performance
CART (